<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?><rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
		>
<channel>
	<title>Comments on: Am I Spamming You?</title>
	<atom:link href="http://icedcoffee.ie/2010/07/07/am-i-spamming-you/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://icedcoffee.ie/2010/07/07/am-i-spamming-you/</link>
	<description></description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sun, 20 May 2012 16:42:50 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.3.1</generator>
	<item>
		<title>By: TheChrisD</title>
		<link>http://icedcoffee.ie/2010/07/07/am-i-spamming-you/comment-page-1/#comment-3508</link>
		<dc:creator>TheChrisD</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Sat, 10 Jul 2010 12:48:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://icedcoffee.ie/?p=3272#comment-3508</guid>
		<description>I seem to have a similar thing happening with my own domain, but rather than many addresses, it&#039;s just my primary &lt;em&gt;me&lt;/em&gt; address.

I&#039;d say about eight times a day or so, I get a mail in spam claiming to come from me for Viagra. It&#039;s really infuriating the fact that it&#039;s happening, and I&#039;m really annoyed at how my e-mail was able to be harvested for use in such purposes. If only there was some sort of central database or so where domains could &quot;register&quot; their e-mail server so that whenever an e-mail is sent to someone, their provider can check the database and if the mail comes from somewhere other than the registered server, it&#039;s not delivered.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I seem to have a similar thing happening with my own domain, but rather than many addresses, it&#8217;s just my primary <em>me</em> address.</p>
<p>I&#8217;d say about eight times a day or so, I get a mail in spam claiming to come from me for Viagra. It&#8217;s really infuriating the fact that it&#8217;s happening, and I&#8217;m really annoyed at how my e-mail was able to be harvested for use in such purposes. If only there was some sort of central database or so where domains could &#8220;register&#8221; their e-mail server so that whenever an e-mail is sent to someone, their provider can check the database and if the mail comes from somewhere other than the registered server, it&#8217;s not delivered.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Donncha O Caoimh</title>
		<link>http://icedcoffee.ie/2010/07/07/am-i-spamming-you/comment-page-1/#comment-3507</link>
		<dc:creator>Donncha O Caoimh</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 08 Jul 2010 20:12:13 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://icedcoffee.ie/?p=3272#comment-3507</guid>
		<description>Same has happened to me on my inphotos.org domain a few times. Really sucks :(</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Same has happened to me on my inphotos.org domain a few times. Really sucks :(</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Phil O&#39;Kane</title>
		<link>http://icedcoffee.ie/2010/07/07/am-i-spamming-you/comment-page-1/#comment-3505</link>
		<dc:creator>Phil O&#39;Kane</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Thu, 08 Jul 2010 10:46:18 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://icedcoffee.ie/?p=3272#comment-3505</guid>
		<description>@&lt;a href=&quot;#comment-3503&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot;&gt;Steve Graham&lt;/a&gt; - Thanks Steve, will take a look into that. 

@&lt;a href=&quot;#comment-3504&quot; rel=&quot;nofollow&quot;&gt;Stephen Barnes&lt;/a&gt; - No, but I have some VjaqrRa supeer acgtivve. It&#039;s supeer!</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>@<a href="#comment-3503" rel="nofollow">Steve Graham</a> &#8211; Thanks Steve, will take a look into that. </p>
<p>@<a href="#comment-3504" rel="nofollow">Stephen Barnes</a> &#8211; No, but I have some VjaqrRa supeer acgtivve. It&#8217;s supeer!</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Stephen Barnes</title>
		<link>http://icedcoffee.ie/2010/07/07/am-i-spamming-you/comment-page-1/#comment-3504</link>
		<dc:creator>Stephen Barnes</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 07 Jul 2010 16:25:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://icedcoffee.ie/?p=3272#comment-3504</guid>
		<description>Oh! Hi Steve - I was just about to say exactly the same thing!  But even chaning the email address for the Domain won&#039;t stop it.  The bounce will just go back to whatever was in the From field, regardless of any registered email address against the domain.

Sorry Phil - there&#039;s not really anything you can do about it.  If I were you I&#039;d set a filter in Gmail to trap all the common phrases in the emails and delete them immediately.

Oh, and if you&#039;ve got any spare &quot;VjaqrRa pProfsEssioNal&quot; I&#039;ll take some ;-)</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Oh! Hi Steve &#8211; I was just about to say exactly the same thing!  But even chaning the email address for the Domain won&#8217;t stop it.  The bounce will just go back to whatever was in the From field, regardless of any registered email address against the domain.</p>
<p>Sorry Phil &#8211; there&#8217;s not really anything you can do about it.  If I were you I&#8217;d set a filter in Gmail to trap all the common phrases in the emails and delete them immediately.</p>
<p>Oh, and if you&#8217;ve got any spare &#8220;VjaqrRa pProfsEssioNal&#8221; I&#8217;ll take some ;-)</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
	<item>
		<title>By: Steve Graham</title>
		<link>http://icedcoffee.ie/2010/07/07/am-i-spamming-you/comment-page-1/#comment-3503</link>
		<dc:creator>Steve Graham</dc:creator>
		<pubDate>Wed, 07 Jul 2010 15:52:08 +0000</pubDate>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://icedcoffee.ie/?p=3272#comment-3503</guid>
		<description>I think what may be happening is that your domain has been chosen by spammers for bulk mailings for the &quot;From:&quot; field. It&#039;s a substantial flaw in Internet mail that you can put whatever you like in that field and nothing checks it.

The spammers are probably sending out many mails with @icedcoffee.ie as the &quot;From:&quot; field. When a responsible server tries to deal with a delivery failure on that, it will look up the &quot;owner&quot; of the domain and return the mail. Obviously bulk spam creates many failures with dead or non-existent destination addresses.

So the problem isn&#039;t with Google, it&#039;s with the registration of your domain. It would be very naughty to change the registered e-mail address of the owner of that domain to a non-existent one, but that would make your problem go away. Wink.</description>
		<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I think what may be happening is that your domain has been chosen by spammers for bulk mailings for the &#8220;From:&#8221; field. It&#8217;s a substantial flaw in Internet mail that you can put whatever you like in that field and nothing checks it.</p>
<p>The spammers are probably sending out many mails with @icedcoffee.ie as the &#8220;From:&#8221; field. When a responsible server tries to deal with a delivery failure on that, it will look up the &#8220;owner&#8221; of the domain and return the mail. Obviously bulk spam creates many failures with dead or non-existent destination addresses.</p>
<p>So the problem isn&#8217;t with Google, it&#8217;s with the registration of your domain. It would be very naughty to change the registered e-mail address of the owner of that domain to a non-existent one, but that would make your problem go away. Wink.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
	</item>
</channel>
</rss>

